Meat Cove to Pollett’s Cove

What an Extreme Back Country Adventure!  It started the night before we left, Laura and I enjoyed “NO” sleep while our tent was pitched on an ocean cliff with 95km/h winds.  The next morning, four of us (Laura, Derry, Etienne, and myself) set out for the 3 day challenge of bushwhacking through the Cape Breton Highlands from Meat Cove to Pollett’s Cove.   No trail, just compass and a bearing of South, South West and West.  80% of the time we had no idea where we were.  It rained hard for most of the trip with a very high humidity as well.  The bogs were numerous, the  forest was narrow with lots of blow downs, and the alders were so painful to go through.  How could you not have fun!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Nova Scotia, Cape Breton | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Meat Cove to Pollett’s Cove

  1. Etienne Randonnee

    Where else can you find better bush bashing than in the Highlands of Cape Breton? No where!
    With three compadres that seek the thrill of being the master of their own destinies in an untraveled wilderness, this is backpacking at its finest.
    One great experience is what is was.
    Many thanks for sharing the adventure, I can hardly wait to take it on again.

  2. Erin

    Hiya!
    I was with a group that was at Polletts the same weekend and we hiked out around the same time. Great blog! Our group is always up for adventures if you guys are ever looking for more partners in crime.

    • Erin, thanks for the positive comments. Let’s make it a point to hit the trails together sometime in the future. I am with a small group of friends that are hitting Polletts Cove this Thanksgiving weekend. We wanted to enjoy the fall colors and look forward to a little exploring. All The Best, Corey.

  3. Jim

    I did the trek in June 2011 with 2 friends. It was a GRAND adventure! If you would like to see my photos send me your e-mail address and I will send you the picasa link. Just got back from treking the Long Range Traverse in Gros Morne National Park Nfld. I very highly recommend this adventure!!!

    Cheers

    Jim

    • Jim, thanks for checking out the blog. Yes, Meat to Pollets is a grand adventure. I would enjoy seeing your photos and will private message my email to you so you can share. I have 4 or 5 day traverse of Gros Morne planned for next year. I also hope to get out and do the West Coast Trail next year as well (i hear great things on this one).

    • My friend and I are planning to hike Meat Cove to Pollet’s Cove. Could you help me with some information…photos would be great as well!

      • Erik. Feel free to send me a private message and I will try and help you in any way I can. Chat soon, Corey.

  4. Genny Killin

    Hi, we just finished the coastal route from Pollett’s to Meat Cove, very challenging. Lots of scree, little bog! Pictures are up on my Facebook page

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Misadventures In The Wild

Adventuring and misadventuring around Nova Scotia and beyond.

Welcome to MAMATREK

Hiking in the White Mountains of New Hampshire

The Mountain Blog

"life isn't measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away"

Never Stop Exploring

"life isn't measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away"

The Courier

SendOutCards Official Blog

"life isn't measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away"

Corey's Adventure Journal (hiking & backpacking)

"life isn't measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away"

I Luv 2 Fish

Some men would rather be photographed with their Fish than their Wives . . .

